Knock, Knock

Door_knocker_3l
Jesus told his followers "Ask and it will be given to you; seek and you will find; knock and the door will be opened to you."  I started thinking about this verse this morning.

Right now, Jen and I are in a period of transition in our lives.  I have resigned from NCC and we are waiting to see what God has for us in the near future.  Thankfully, God has brought several possibilities into our path, and we are waiting to see what would be the wisest course.  That brings me to knocking.

Ever think about knocking?  Banging your fist on a wooden or metal surface?  When I knock, I make my presence known without knowing what the person on the inside is doing.  I knock and then I wait.  I trust that the person inside will see who it is, open the door, and invite me in.  I think that is why Jesus chose this word picture for waiting on God.  When we butt up against a barrier, sometimes all we can do is make our presence known to God, without knowing what God is up to inside.  But then when he opens the door, I am invited into whatever he has going.  Sometimes it seems that I have to wait a long time while knocking – sometimes the answer is instantaneous.  Either way, God always opens the door.  I think that was Jesus’ point.   

Leave a Reply

