Rip Curl

Just reflecting on my day – August 31, 2006 – and how much has happened in my life in the last year:

  • This weekend I give my first talk at The Star.  I am so excited about what God is going to do through this church in Plainfield… but it has been a LONG and taxing year as we transitioned the church at Naperville and then to The Star.
  • Mom is moving to Arizona this weekend… for the first time in a long time, she won’t be "coffee-shop close"… but she will be in a great place for a retired english teacher!  Enjoy those Az winters mom!
  • A year ago now, Jen’s parents were living with us (and did for most of last year).  Now they are in southern Indiana, serving in a local church.
  • We were just beginning our first year of home-school last year…now my sons are in 2nd grade, Kindergarten, and full-fledged toddler-dom.  Jen and I now know a lot more about ourselves and our sons.
  • Last year at this time, I had hair!
  • In addition to all of this I did a major remodel job on our home (put down wood flooring myself), saw most of our neighbors move, underwent a major medical scare, and had hundreds of other changes happen in our lives.

Surfin
I say all of this because I took some time to seriously meditate on change and my life today.  I grew up around surfing, and change is a lot like a wave… if I (mentally) am on the wrong side of change, trying to control it, trying to fight it, it will wipe me out.  There is NO WAY Jen and I could have come to grips with all the ways our life turned upside down this year.

But if I approach change the way a surfer approaches a wave – an opportunity, a chance to flow with something bigger than me, a vehicle to move me in ways I couldn’t even dream, then change becomes the medium my life happens in!  I realized that through this last year, I could see and operate clearly in this time of rapid change, and parts of me grew through the process.  I find myself on shore, looking back over the wave-distance I traveled in the last year, and have to say (in the language of my surfer childhood in southern california) "Duuude…tubular!"

One thought on “Rip Curl

Leave a Reply

