You Can’t Catch Me I’m The Gingerbread Latte

Gingerbread_latte_
It’s Wednesday – so I am sitting in a Starbucks doing my normal day of study/writing in preperation for my weekend talk, sipping my second double espresso.  That’s when Sandy, one of the barristas here, walks up and offers me a sample of this new drink – A Ginger Bread Latte.  Now, you have to understand, I am a tried and true espresso man… strong, stout, and maybe even macho, espresso is my drink.  But my friend Scott Hodge had recently posted about expanding his coffee horizons (read it here), and I can’t let him get more cultured than me, right?  So I accepted the sample.  If you melted down a gingerbread cookie, put whipped cream on it, and sprinkled it with nutmeg, you’d have this drink.  I got about an ounce of it, and it was good in that quantity.  I don’t think I could handle much more.  But if you like sweet drinks, or put a lot of sugar in your coffee, you would probably dig this.  A Christmas drink already?  I guess it’s November!

4 thoughts on “You Can’t Catch Me I’m The Gingerbread Latte

  1. Here’s the reason those Starbucks specialty drinks taste soooo good:

    Ginger Bread Latte – 520 Calaries (230 from fat)

    Pumpkin Spice Latte (my favorite) – 580 Calaries (230 from fat)

    Double Chocalate Chips Frappuccino – 720 calaries (220 from fat)

    as compared to a:

    McDonald’s Big Mac – 560 calaries (30 from fat)

    That’s why I just get regular coffee from the Mermaid.

Leave a Reply

