20 year decisions

1987

It was 20 years ago this last week that my father came into the living room of our home and informed me he was leaving.  He then told me I had but a few seconds to make a decision – I could live with him or my mom, but my decision would be final.

Tough stuff for a fourteen year old boy.  And 20 years later here I am.  That decision changed the course of my life from that day on – a 20 year decision.  I am thankful that I made the right one that day.  I can think back and see several decisions in my life that were "Fork In The Road" decisions – life defining, destiny impacting choices.  Those never get any easier, do they?  Two of my favorite quotes about decision making:

In a moment of decision, the
best thing you can do is the right thing to do. The worst thing you can
do is nothing.–Theodore Roosevelt

When a decision has to be made, make it. There is no totally right time for anything.–General George Patton

My biggest piece of hope?  God is STILL showing me how to make those decisions.  I am giving a talk Sunday at The Star about how God fathers us, trains us to choose wisely, and how we can learn from Him to be better parents.  I don’t know about you, but I’m still learning…

3 thoughts on “20 year decisions

  1. Hey Chris, I just came across this post at random tonight and it fit perfectly with something I posted earlier today, so I hope its ok that I linked to you. I love the quotes you posted, and I would add Yogi Berra’s, “If you come to a fork in the road, TAKE IT!”
    Later man.

Leave a Reply

