The One Thing

You probably know someone just like Joe.  I spotted Joe in a coffee shop today as I was finishing my talk for this weekend (preparing it, not giving it!).  I have seen Joe around from time to time and we have gotten to be good acquaintances, if not friends.  Joe is not a follower of Jesus (yet! – ya know I’m praying for you Joe!) but often asks me what I am going to speak about on the weekends.  I told him this weekend’s topic – the resurrection of Jesus.  Here’s what he said that pinned me to my chair:

You know, that is the one thing that trips me up.  I can find it so easy to dismiss so many Christians as nuts… Jesus as a really good man who was made into a whole lot more than even HE claimed to be… all of Christianity as one big CRUSADE to win more people… but I can’t get by that resurrection thing.  Either Jesus did or he didn’t.  If he didn’t, a whole lot of people are really messed up about something that should be pretty easy to prove… and if he DID?  I don’t know what to think!

If you are a Jesus follower, hear Joe.  The guy we follow ROSE FROM THE DEAD.  Pretty impressive resume.  Its the ONE THING that your neighbor, your mother, your boyfriend, or your assistant can’t get by… they have to deal with it.  Did He or not?  It’s the question that will split the ages, and one you have to help them navigate. 

3 thoughts on “The One Thing

  1. Very good point. I saw this, though:

    as a really good man who was made into a whole lot more than even HE claimed to be…

    That’s simply not true. It’s the liar, lunatic, or Lord argument; you can’t read what He said about Himself and say He was only a good man. He said He was God; He said He was the way, the truth, and the life, and no one gets to God except through Him. How can that be made into anything more? 🙂

  2. Absolutely right Sunny… Of course, there are several things I wouldn’t absolutely endorse in what Joe said… but its important to let him say them. Conversation is key!

Leave a Reply

