Visual Voicemail for Blackberry

Simulscribe

One of the most enviable aspects of the iPhone is visual voice mail… the non-linear interface allowing you to check only the voice mail messages you want by clicking on those you want to hear and skipping the others.

But as a Blackberry user all I could do is salivate and wonder how good this feature really was… until now.

The Orchard’s student ministry intern, Ben Hammond, told me about SimulScribe.  Once I put this app on my blackberry, I had a visual voice mail interface that also transcribes the text of the message and emails it to me, so I can read the voice mail in addition to listen to it.

I installed it today, and so far it is working well.  After a week’s free trial, the transcription costs (and it seems expensive)… but the site claims the visual voice mail component can be run as a stand-alone for free.

I’ll let you know how it goes…

Leave a Reply

