Dark Days

300pxthe_scream

Several years ago this month, a good friend of mine put a pistol to his head and took his own life.

I couldn’t see it from the outside.  I couldn’t see that his view of the world left no more room for hope.  No joy in the future.  To him, it was all bleak.

And according to social services in Kane, Kendall, DuPage and Will counties, there are thousands of others like him right now in the "dark days" of January.

I don’t mean to be depressing… but more people take their own life in January than any other month.  And the rate of suicide attempts in suburban Chicago has taken a DRAMATIC upturn since the holidays.

Blame the constant droning of the media about our economy.  Blame job loss, an ongoing war, or an unparalleled sense of pessimism that seems to pervade our culture of late.

But do something about it.  Look for signs in the people in your life… people you see or even just bump into everyday.  Here are some of the many signs to look for:

  • Sudden change in personality (a happy person is suddenly listless)
  • Sudden change in behavior
  • Complaints of sleep disruptions that are new/unusual
  • Fear of losing control
  • Escapist fantasies
  • Expression of no hope in the future
  • Giving away favorite things unexpectedly

There are many more.  January is a tough month, and we are living in a tough time right now.  Intervene… talk to someone about your concerns.  Just DO something.

I’ll go back to being funny and/or entertaining tomorrow.

One thought on “Dark Days

  1. Ugh. I can’t imagine losing a friend that way. I’m sorry. Another thing that can help someone, especially if you are a Christ follower, is to be ok with depression. Let them/yourself get help. I avoided getting help for my depression. I kind of didn’t even admit it was there although I was suspicious. I went kicking and screaming into medication but did so to spare my children from “scary mommy”. And the difference was amazing. Not a cure, but it was just enough stabilization to let me get other help. Yeah, I’ll be funny later too.

Leave a Reply

