Sometimes, I Don’t Mind…

During my devotional time some days ago God smacked me in the head with some scriptures:

Romans 12:2  "Do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewal of your mind, that by testing you may
discern what is the will of God, what is good and acceptable and
perfect."

Romans 7:25 "… I myself serve the law of God with my mind, but with my flesh I serve the law of sin."

Romans 8:5-6  "For those who live according to the flesh set their minds on the things
of the flesh, but those who live according to the Spirit set their
minds on the things of the Spirit. 6 For to set the mind on the flesh is death, but to set the mind on the Spirit is life and peace."

See the big, flashing sign from God in those scriptures (and others, but I didn’t want this post to be thirty pages long)???  My mind is the field of battle.  With my mind I set my emotional direction, my beliefs, and the origin of my actions.  If I am going to present my body (not a disembodied spirit, nor my soul… my BODY) to God as a sacrifice, as my spiritual act of worship, my MIND has to be involved. 

The transformation that is spoken of (church folks know this as sanctification) is through the renewing of my mind, which results in changed beliefs and changed actions.

That means it matters what I am thinking about.  If I allow myself to worry, if I allow myself to think of Paying attention to the flow of my thoughts, where my mind is focusing, and disciplining my mind to think on things like Christ can affect every area of my life.

So… think about what you’re thinking about.  It’s Biblical!

Leave a Reply

