Mud-sucked

When I was in ROTC in college, I trained with our school’s ranger batallion.  One day on a mock hill assault, I thought I knew better and took another line around an obstacle than I was instructed and got into this boggy mess of not-quite-mud and not-exactly quicksand.  Just a few steps into it, and I was stuck fast.  It didn’t help that I was carrying a rucksack filled with gear.  I had to holler for my cadre commander to get me out – the mud almost sucked the boots right off my feet! (this condition is known as mud-sucked!)

I thought about that day as I spent time with God this morning…  Psalm 40 (ESV) reads:

I waited patiently for the Lord;
he inclined to me and heard my cry.
He drew me up from the pit of destruction,
out of the miry bog,
and set my feet upon a rock,
making my steps secure.

How many times in life do I head other than where instructed, thinking and talking in ways that are destructive and not helpful, and get my life mired down in a bog… carrying the weight of worry or stress only makes it worse!  Over and over again the Scriptures point out that a primary purpose of God is to set our feet on something solid again… to pull us out of the mud-sucky situation we get ourselves into and grant us freedom.  Think about it – after plodding through heavy snow or mud every hiker knows the relative freedom of walking on rock!  Seems like you are flying!

So every day – especially in heavy, stressful times (like planning a cross country move 🙂 – I have to keep my mind out of the muck, keep my thoughts traveling lightly on the rock God sets me on.  Rock-solid.

Leave a Reply

