Coach

Sensei… it means teacher, coach, honored friend in Japanese.  One of the greatest sensei’s I ever learned martial arts under is Ed Kuras – owner of Western Illinois Shotokan Karate.

Sensei Kuras not only taught me the ART of Shotokan karate, he was my coach… he taught me how to win in the ring.  Lessons about ring management, positioning scores for the referee, sports psychology, and nutrition were alll included with the techniques of punching and kicking.

I met many guys in the ring who were good technicians – but they didn’t have a COACH teaching them how to win in the ring.  No one teaching them how to WIN.

Big difference between knowing skills and knowing how to succeed – how to win:

Isaiah 48:17

“I am the Lord your God,
who teaches you to profit [to excel, to win], who leads you in the way you should go.”

I am so glad that following Jesus is more than learning skills – how to pray, how to read the Bible – it is about learning how to excel, how to win at life.  God says he is in the business of teaching me how to profit, to win, to excel… teaching me the way I should go… just like a good coach.

Leave a Reply

