Daily Prayer

As the Orchard explored common prayer as a community recently, I have been changing up my daily prayer routines.  I have used a couple of prayer books, written my prayers, and prayed through the psalms as recent prayer methods.  But recently, God has been impacting me about the size and scope of love – that perfect love casts out fear, conquers death… is basically the one-source answer for followers of Jesus.

So today, I took a section from the third chapter of Ephesians (ESV) and rewrote it (changed a few pronouns) to become a love-focused daily prayer that I will use to start my day for at least the rest of this month.  Here it is:

“For this reason [that through my calling in the church the wisdom of God would impact people with influence (3:10)] I bow my knees before you Father, from whom every father in heaven and earth draws his name, that according to the riches of Your glory, you would grant me strength and power, through your Spirit, in my inner being so that Christ would dwell in my heart today through faith.  That I, being rooted and grounded in supernatural love, may have the strength to comprehend, with all the saints, what is the heighth and length and breadth and depth of the four-dimensional love of Christ, a love that surpasses all knowledge and understanding;  I pray this so that I may be filled with Your Fullness, Father.”

Leave a Reply

