Sunday Prayers

Jeremiah 18:1-6 (ESV) – “The word that came to Jeremiah from the Lord: 2 “Arise, and go down to the potter’s house, and there I will let you hear my words.” 3 So I went down to the potter’s house, and there he was working at his wheel. 4 And the vessel he was making of clay was spoiled in the potter’s hand, and he reworked it into another vessel, as it seemed good to the potter to do.  5 Then the word of the Lord came to me: 6 “O house of Israel, can I not do with you as this potter has done? declares the Lord. Behold, like the clay in the potter’s hand, so are you in my hand…”

O God, forgive the poverty and pettiness of our prayers.  Listen not to our words, but to the yearnings of our hearts.  Hear beneath our petitions the crying of our soul’s needs – the groanings so deep within us they cannot even be uttered.  Let your tender mercies come unto us so that we may learn to live again.

“Can I not do with you as this Potter?”…

Yes, Lord.  Help me to realize I am your Project.

Leave a Reply

