Weekend balance

I work weekends… as do all pastors, and a lot of you.  I work Saturday through Thursday – so my “weekend” is really Friday – when I turn off the technology (except maybe posting family pics on Twitter) and spend time with my family.  There is always a temptation for me to dive in to work – the phone keeps ringing, the message needs tweaking, etc.

But I can’t – and I don’t.  Because my family needs me even more.  So, I fight the battle of changing ryhtms in my spirit (do you sometimes feel uncomfortable, disconnected, or – yes – even guilty for totally relaxing like I do?) and focus on the people I love the most…

This last Friday?  My boys and I played soldiers in the woods, then cooked hotdogs and hamburgers over a firepit.  They loved it (and I hadn’t played soldier in a while!).  Then I took my wife out to dinner and to a movie for a date.  We went on the motorcycle – which I love because its a motorcycle, but also because it makes her hold on tight 🙂  It was a GREAT Sabbath/weekend, and I was then able to dive back into church work this morning (Saturday) feeling refreshed, and my family knowing that they are still top priority.

.

(And in case you are wondering, NO – Charlie is not smoking a cigar… it is an Oscar Meyer Weiner, thank you! 🙂

Leave a Reply

