Our Work In Creation

I read this quote from author Stephen Lawhead, from his book Merlin, that so poignantly reveals the responsibility of Christ followers to choose according to this Ancient Way of Jesus:

I have not lost my way – it is just that so many ways open before me that sometimes I hardly know which way to choose.  To decide for one is to decide against another.  I never imagined it would be this hard.  And now I know… The higher a person’s call and vision, the more choices are given them.  This is our work in creation: to decide.  And what we decide is woven into the thread of time and being for ever.  Choose wisely then, but you must choose.

In this way, a follower of Jesus partners with Father God in reforming, restoring, and redeeming creation.  In the choices we make about what to buy, what to say, what to give…etc.  we choose to advance the Kingdom.  Dang!

Leave a Reply

