Sunday Morning Prayers

Poustinia… the Russian word for desert is also colloquial for the little shack that Russian monks and priests go into be shut away with God.

Sometimes, when I am quiet and alone with you God, it seems as if nothing has happened.  It is only when I leave my little poustinia and venture out do I realize just how much has happened in the stillness and quiet.

Sometimes what I am searching for is a feeling… a feeling of deepness, or connection, or whatever.  But my feelings are really irrelevant… or rather they are poor gauges of what you are really doing IN me.  That in fact my inner life – anything deeper that I may have – is simply a deepening of my relationship with you.  And that relationship sometimes exists in a silence that simply transcends any feelings.

-From my journal… December 7th, 2008

Leave a Reply

