No wasted time…

Jer 29:11 For I know the plans I have for you, declares the Lord, plans for welfare and not for evil, to give you a future and a hope.
Ps 23:3-4; Joel 2:25

God can take the events of the past and weave them so skilfully into a new plan for us that not only do we find that there IS a future for us after all, but it is as if there have been no wasted years.  No baggage… just cargo for our journey.  Useful for our next arrival.

Jesus walks in my past…in all the dark rooms I pretended were closed, that He may bring His light to bear.  I must invite Him into each moment to receive his wholeness and forgiveness… His acceptance of me completely.  I must offer especially… all that I wish to forget… all that still pains and hurts me… all the hurts I have caused others.  Invite Him into the places I am most afraid of (ashamed of?) knowing that His arrival will bring redemption and wholeness.  Because He is not only in may past – illuminating all my dark corners – but ahead of me as well… preparing the next place for me.  He is on the road I journey, wherever my journey is leading me, He has already been.  Perhaps I have no clue what lies ahead – what glories or challenges await – but I know WHO is ahead of me.  So my future is not unknown…  (inspired by the writings of David Adam – The Edge of Glory)

Leave a Reply

