“Life Lessons” I’m trying to unlearn… pt 2

Look here for part one…

3. I am irreparably damaged by my past.

Painful life events leave scars.  No Doubt!  But I have discovered that they’re mostly what I choose to make them.  Fuel for my future.  Background scenery.  Great stories.  It’s all a matter of perspective – no matter the trauma.  Consider a friend of mine, who had a brain injury that obliterated his memory.  He has relearned his life… describing it as losing “36 years of emotional baggage and regrets.”
For example, take an issue from your past that you believe has hindered your future growth… and think of three reasons that belief may be wrong. Your brain will begin to let it go. Simple, but true.

4.  Working hard is always the answer.
Having an alcoholic father created in me a drive to always prove myself.  I could always count on outworking my opponents or problems… until I realized that I don’t get to redo this life.  That my best successes and most effective moments came when I was playing.
I learned that playing can accomplish work, and work can be play.  I want to play my way through the rest of my life and let God do His best through me as I do.
5. Success means never failing.
I looked at my life as divisible between two columns… Wins and Losses.  But the reality?  Some of my greatest moments have been both.  The freedom I extend myself to fail… miserably, publicly, and often, creates the room – the freedom – to succeed.
6. It matters what people think of me.

Be polished.  Be popular.  Care how others perceive me.  Watch my image. Bull!

“What if people think badly of me!” This dreaded fear causes despair, depression (the mental state), depressed living (the way we live), suicide, and even homicide.  When I bemoaned how others were labeling me to a friend, he said, “Wow, you have some painful fantasies about other people’s fantasies about you.”
My anguish came from my hypothesis that other people’s hypothetical hypotheses about me mattered!  (Read that fast three times!) Ridiculous! Right now, imagine what you’d do if it absolutely didn’t matter what people thought of you. Got it? Good. Never go back.
One thought on ““Life Lessons” I’m trying to unlearn… pt 2

Leave a Reply

